Photo credit:
University of Maryland Archives,
1941 Terrapin

Thomas B. Symons (1880-1970) was acting president of the university in 1954.

Having retired as Dean of Agriculture and Director of the Agricultural Experiment Station in 1950, Symons agreed to serve as acting president in 1954.

During his brief tenure, his major accomplishment was to remodel the Rossborough Inn into the faculty club.

A building on campus, constructed in 1940, was named after Symons in 1954. Symons Hall is home to the Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics, the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, the Department of Entomology, the College of Life Sciences, and the Marine-Estuarine-Environmental Sciences, as well as several other programs and offices.

  • Wilson Homer "Bull" Elkins, President, 1954-1978

  • Flagship Institution of the University System of Maryland
    University of Maryland, College Park, MD 20742, USA 301.405.1000
    Copyright 2013 University of Maryland | Privacy
    Contact us with comments, questions and feedback