Photo credit:
Library of Congress
Prints and Photographs Division,

Samuel Jones, a graduate of West Point and former Confederate major general, was president from 1873 to 1875.

During his presidency, Jones reconstructed the curriculum and the overall focus of the College. He established six departments—languages, mathematics, English, natural science, moral philosophy, and agriculture—with emphasis on science instead of the classics.

He also added military training and continued the preparatory school, advertising it as a preparatory course for West Point and the Naval Academy.

The Board requested his resignation because of controversy over his change in emphasis from agriculture to militarism. Following his presidency, he became a clerk in the federal war department. Jones died in 1887.

  • William H. Parker, President, 1875-1882

  • Flagship Institution of the University System of Maryland
    University of Maryland, College Park, MD 20742, USA 301.405.1000
    Copyright 2013 University of Maryland | Privacy
    Contact us with comments, questions and feedback